Awards Information

ASECS Travel Awards Postponement


Libraries and archives remain closed, travel is restricted, and the progress of the pandemic unpredictable. Applications for ASECS travel grants normally are due on January 1, but we cannot know when libraries will open or scholars will be allowed to cross international borders. Following consultation with the trustees of the travel awards funds, therefore, it has been decided that ASECS will postpone the application process for 2021 awards until travel becomes comparatively normal. That might mean giving two sets of awards in the 2022 cycle, or it might mean announcing a special 2021 awards process next summer or fall, should conditions improve more quickly.


This postponement applies to the travel awards administered by ASECS. The Daiches-Manning Memorial Fellowship in Eighteenth-Century Scottish Studies, the A.C. Elias, Jr., Irish-American Research Travel Fellowship, and the Mary D. Sheriff Research and Travel Award will be awarded in 2020-2021; more information is available at


ASECS remains firmly committed to supporting the scholarly needs of our members and looks forward to resuming our travel awards and library fellowships programs as soon as it is safe to do so.



Annibel Jenkins Biography Prize

Graduate Student Caucus Excellence in Mentorship Award 

Graduate Student Conference Paper Prize

Graduate Student Research Essay Prize

Hans Turley Prize in Queer Eighteenth-Century Studies

Innovative Course Design Competition

James L. Clifford Prize

Louis Gottschalk Prize

Race and Empire Caucus Graduate Student Essay Prize

Srinivas Aravamudan Prize


Women's Caucus - Catherine Macaulay Graduate Student Prize


The Presidential Award for Service to ASECS in Memory of Donald Greene  

The Presidential Award for Service will be presented for the first time as part of the Awards Ceremony at the 2021 Online Annual Meeting.

Research Fellowships and Travel Awards

ASECS Travel Grants

ASECS Library Joint Fellowships [coming soon]

A.C. Elias, Jr. Irish-American Research Travel Fellowship


Daiches-Manning Memorial Fellowship in Eighteenth-Century Scottish Studies 

Mary D. Sheriff Research and Travel Award

Women’s Caucus - Editing and Translation Fellowship

Women's Caucus - Émilie Du Châtelet Award

Women's Caucus - Intersectional Award

Travel Support for ASECS Annual Meeting

Non-Tenure Track Faculty (NTTF) Fund 


Traveling Jam Pot


1300 Elmwood Ave, KH213
Buffalo, NY 14222