top of page

ASECS Committees, 2022–2023

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA)

Co-Chair: Greta LaFleur (American Studies), Queer Trans Caucus

Co-Chair: Mona Narain (English), Women’s Caucus

Lisa Cody, (History) Board

Wolfram Schmidgen (English) at large

Sal Nicolazzo (English), Race and Empire Caucus

Pichaya (Mint) Damrongpiwat (English), Grad Student Caucus

Travis Lau (English), Disability Studies Caucus


Graduate Student Prizes Committee

Chair: James Greene, Indiana State, English

Amy Freund, SMU, Art History

Shane Agin, Duquesne, French/Italian

Committee on Harassment

Simon Stern (U Toronto, Law), Chair

Christy Pichichero (George Mason, French)

Innovative Course Design Committee



James L. Clifford Prize Committee

Chair: Michael Lynn, Purdue University Northwest

Avi Lifschitz, Oxford University, 2020 winner

Susan Libby, Rollins College

Melissa Schoenberger, College of the Holy Cross


Louis Gottschalk Prize Committee

Chair: Manushag N. Powell, Purdue, English

Dustin Stewart, Columbia, English

Brooke Newman, VCU, History

Sarah Benharrech, Univeristy of Maryland, French

Christopher Drew Armstrong, University of Pittsburgh, Art History


Media and Publications Advisor Committee (MPAC)

Benita Blessing, Chair

Craig Hanson, Calvin University


Nominating Committee

Chair: Scott Breuninger, VCU, History/Irish Studies

Pannil Camp, Washington University in St. Louis, Theater

Jennifer Tsien, University of Virginia, French

Courtney Weiss Smith, Wesleyan, English

Laura Stevens, Tulsa, English


Program Committee for Annual Meeting

Chair: Andrew Graciano, U South Carolina, Art History,

Daniel O’Quinn, Guelph, English/Theater

Logan Connors, U of Miami, French

Daniell Spratt, Cal State Northridge, English

Franny Brock, UNC, Art History


Srinivas Aravamudan Prize Committee

Chair: Chloe Wigston Smith, material culture, University of York (UK)

Sarah Eyerly, Florida State, Music

Rachel Wheeler, IUPUI, Religion/History

Peggy Elliot, Georgia College, French

Travel Awards Committee

Chair: Carole Martin, Texas State, French

Annelise Andries, Utrecht, Music

Amber Ludwig, Honolulu Museum of Art, Art History

Stephanie Insley Hershinow, CUNY, English


Traveling Jam Pot Fund Committee

Chair: Rachel Zimmerman, Colorado State Pueblo, Art History

Mattie Burkert, U of Oregon, English

Stephen Lazer, Arizona State, History

bottom of page