Fall Seminar Series - Picart and Bernard's Cérémonies et coutumes religieuses de tous les peuples du

On behalf of the University of Minnesota “Enlightenment Unbound” group https://www.lib.umn.edu/collections/enlightenment-unbound, funded by a National Endowment for the Humanities Digital Humanities Advancement Grant, we invite you to join us for three hybrid Zoom/in-person seminars this fall devoted to the blockbuster Enlightenment bestseller Cérémonies et coutumes religieuses de tous les peuples du monde (hereafter CCR).


All the CCR seminars will be held in person at the University of Minnesota on Fridays at 11am Central Time (9am in Los Angeles; 12 noon in New York and Toronto; 5pm (17H) in London; and 6pm (18H) in Amsterdam and Zurich). The fall seminars will be held on Friday Oct. 1, Nov. 5, and Dec. 10 and a complete schedule with titles and abstracts is found below.


Our first seminar will occur on Friday October 1 and will be led by Mark Valeri, Reverend Priscilla Wood Neaves Distinguished Professor of Religion and Politics, Washington University, St. Louis. It will be based on his chapter "Power, Ceremony, and Roman Catholicism in Bernard and Picart’s Ceremonies and Religious Customs,” which is available now for download and reading to those who register to participate at: https://z.umn.edu/CCRWebinarRegister. Zoom details are provided after you register. You may also register for subsequent seminars through the same link.


Each seminar will be live and interactive, and each will also be recorded for webcast later on the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies YouTube channel. For more information on these webcasts, please contact the ASECS office at asecsoffice@gmail.com


Please circulate this announcement widely and invite any interested participants to join us. We look forward to seeing many of you in person and in the Zoomiverse in the coming weeks.


All best,

J.B. Shank

CCR-ASECS Webinar Series Ad
.pdf
Download PDF • 33KB